Testing a new lens on my favorite subject: JoJo

It’s been a long time since my last post. A lot has happened in the last month. In addition to a little traveling, my wife’s father passed away (damn that cancer!) and we sent our daughter off to college in Hawaii. There are some other developments recently that I will share in a future post but for now, let’s talk about this new lens.

I’m gearing up to shoot a wedding next weekend so have picked up a few items that I needed to complete the list of gear I’ll need. I have yet to move to a full frame camera and have been quite happy with my Canon 7D but not so much with the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 I use as my main lens. So, after much internal debate about going with a Canon EF “L” lens (the 24-70mm f/2.8 to be specific) or an EF-S lens with Image Stabilization, I decided to go with the latter and picked up the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS. This way I can sell off the Tamron and even if and when I do upgrade to a full frame camera, I will still keep the 7D and use this lens.

I decided on this lense because it gets great reviews for incredible sharpness. These pictures of our cat JoJo were taken in the late afternoon with a skylight providing the only light. The first two and the last picture were all taken at f/2.8, 55mm & ISO 200 at 1/125 of a second. The other was at f/3.5, 31mm, ISO 400 at 1/125 of a second. Overall I’m pretty happy with the sharpness and speed of this lens. These results are not too far from the Canon 85mm prime shots I took before. The lighting was a little better in those shots but overall, decent results.

Expect to see some wedding photos in the near future!

 

