Looking down on cloud puffs

Most of the time when flying on a commercial airplane, the clouds just look like a vast sea of white and not really that interesting in my opinion. However, on a recent flight back to Seattle from Toronto, there were a couple of times when there were groups of small puffy clouds that looked like small islands floating in the sky far beneath the plane.

I could have retrieved my Canon 7D from the overhead bin but since I was watching a movie on my BlackBerry Playbook, I decided to take these shots with its built in camera. Getting good shots through the small portal window with all of the glare and reflections isn’t easy but these preserve for me the dreamy feeling I had when looking down on these cloud puffs.

The first three pictures were taken somewhere between Toronto and Lake Huron. The second two were taken over Montana, just south of Missoula. If I had to venture a guess, I would say that the city in the last picture is Lolo and the vast valley beyond is where Highway 93 runs between the Bitterroot and Sapphire mountain ranges. That is about where the GPS system on the plane showed us to be.

