Big Black Bees are Back

It’s spring in the Pacific Northwest and bee lovers are happy to see some bees returning. Good news for bee lovers!

While visiting relatives, the Heather by their house was all abuzz with these big black bees and while that’s a good sign, other species were not so abundant. In particular, honey bees are still pretty scarce. I only saw one while out shooting these. Don’t ask me what kinds of bees I captured here either. I’m hoping someone can tell me 😉 Both of these species have a really deep and low sounding hum when they fly. The one with orange on its back is a little smaller where the black and yellow one is almost an inch long.

Update: I’ve identified the two types of bees I have here. First, the all black and yellow is the Bumbus Vosnesenskii or “Yellow-faced Bumblebee” which is common throughout western North America. The second is the Bombus Melanopygus or “Black-Tailed Bumblebee” which is also native to western North America. I found this handy chart to help figure this out.

